Inane ramblings which escaped my mind

Charms Cafe

Due to the sudden boom in development in Kluang, there are suddenly too many places to choose to go to yamchar with friends. Being out of town all the time, I was never too sure where to go when my friends wants to hang out. The safest bet would usually be Kluang Rail Cafe or Old Town.

From what I have heard was that there is this new cafe in Kluang Mall called Charms Cafe. Everyone in Kluang seems to be going there for gatherings or just to chill out. So after Irodori Sushi, WeiHar and I couldn’t resist going there (it so happens that we decided to go Kluang Mall to continue our hangout time). Everyone is telling us how charming  the place is.

The place IS rather charming but only the sitting outside the cafe was charming.They had different size and colour lanterns which I thought was adorable. It reminded me of the charm bracelet that Kris got me a few years back.

IMG_3543

And the main attraction of the sitting area was actually a rather large garden swing set.

IMG_3529

The food was not very unique and was typical Asian. Neither were there a wide selection of drinks like some of the other cafes but it was all right for me and the prices were rather decent. The food wasn’t bad actually but since we were pretty stuffed from Irodori, we just got some things to drink (sparkling sirap bandung for me and cucumber apple for WeiHar and rojak munch while we yak the time away.

IMG_3531
We also ordered cucur bawang and dippings for the cucur bawang was good but it depends on ones taste actually as it was made of lime juice, cili padi and vinegar.

IMG_3534

There was a group who had ordered pineapple fried rice and the lamb *drools* which Charms Cafe was noted for. It really, really looks good. I checked the price.  RM19.90 for the amount of lamb is an okay price.

While we were there, WeiHar mention that nowadays, teenagers no longer go hang out at mamaks. Everytime they say meet up, they will either be in places like this or at a lounge. Unlike us, when we say yamchar, we’d think of a place like Kak Esah’s to have a drink. But then again, when we were growing up in Kluang, there wasn’t even a cinema/cineplex. Plus, the only decent mall and meet up place was BCB plaza a.k.a bus station ‘cuz everyone takes the bus.

I guess it is either the older generation (us) are too kampung or the younger generation (my brother & co.) are just too pampered and have to much money.

2 responses

  1. lolz…i think my form 6 gathering (which i missed!) was held here that day…saw the photos on facebook…

    September 23, 2009 at 19:58

  2. Steph

    yes it was… no wonder I thought I saw someone who look like Soo Yee there

    September 23, 2009 at 21:22

Leave a comment